OUR WEAKNESS CAN BE OUR GREATEST STRENGTH

logoAs I look back on my Christian journey, thinking about who I use to be, compared to who I am now, I am amazed. I, like you, am a work in progress. It is good at times to look back and see what God has done. When I first gave my life to Christ, I was so caught up in the world that if I was honest, I would tell you how much I feared it. As a man discovering who I was, along with the world claiming my identity, I found myself lost, not knowing how I fit into this world or my purpose for being here. You know what I am talking about, it began in our childhood. When we were teased, chosen last for a team, rejected among the popular groups, and you were left feeling less than, or you experienced the complete opposite.

I will stay on the rejected first. Regardless of the reason you and I were rejected at one time in our lives or many times, we know the feeling. These experiences can have a very negative impact on who were are as people. If you were abused or had a handicap of any sort you know what it means to feel less than. I found myself falling into perfectionism at a very early age, not realizing it. The problem with that is, I held such a high expectation of myself, never allowing myself to succeed or find excellence. Instead I had a false Identity built on lies straight from Hell. I believe the lies alone had the power to imprison me from my true potential.

Let me give you some examples of the lies I was believing when I found Christ. First of all, I hated who I was, I hated the fear I had inside, so I created a tough image to hide it, without realizing I was doing it. I held on to guilt from my past, some which was mine and some that wasn’t. The rejection I had experienced caused me to react to things in ways that kept me chained. I thought negative about myself so I would choose things that were not good for me but rather kept me feeling safe, or I wouldn’t choose things that I should have chosen due to fear.

I was a very weak person. When I found Christ I began to change, first when I started believing Gods truth and pushing out the lies. Second when I started trusting Him and walking In faith. Dealing with my fears, like when God led me to do poetry readings at Barns And Nobles. I was terrified to speak in front of crowds but I knew it was what God wanted, so I did it. For a year straight I humiliated myself trusting God, and the power of my fear for the most part broke. Now I write on a blog knowing I am not the best writer and I can’t spell all that well, though again I am trusting God and being vulnerable. If I hadn’t taken the chance with trusting God I would never have seen the truth I am In Him. I would still be afraid to speak in public, I wouldn’t have taken the chance to share my walk with you.

1 Corinthians 1:27

New International Version (NIV)

27 But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.

You see If you are struggling with things about your past or who you are, God can and will heal you, If you will allow Him to. It requires believing His word and trusting the Potter which is Christ, with the Clay you are in His hands of love. God promises to take your weaknesses and turn them to strength.

Those who grew up the opposite, You were chosen first, you were in the popular group or even those God has healed and now uses powerfully, face the danger of the other side of the coin. Trusting in your own strength and abilities, which leads to pride and arrogance, and the lack of realizing your real need for Jesus. I have and still do at times deal with relying on my own strength and pride. As long as you walk close to the Lord and recognize your need in Him, He will walk you through it. The important thing is to have our hearts open to God, submitting to His inner work and living by His word. We need to find the heart to surrender to Christ so that He can shape us into our true identity which is only found in Him. Whether your weakness is pride and strength in your abilities or you believe lies of who you are. Place them before Christ so He can take your weakness and turn it to strength.

I have exciting news, our store is now open. www.fullofrosesinspirationals.com

If this ministry has blessed you and you would like to be a part in it reaching others, we are so excited to join hands with you. If God places it on your heart to sow into this ministry, not only will you have heart felt worship through the framed inspirational pictures with words ,you will help our ministry expand to others, it will also feed the hungry because a percentage of each sale goes to

http://www.graceresources.org/.

Grace Resource Center

Thank you so much for your prayers and partners to spread the word of God to people in fresh new inspiring ways. God bless you and be strengthened in all you do. 🙂

19 thoughts on “OUR WEAKNESS CAN BE OUR GREATEST STRENGTH

  1. this is powerful. when one trusts God and decide to be who they are without fears then freedom is found.

  2. I can identify with you. I’m going through such phase in my life. Though I’m still fearful and shy, unexpectedly, the Lord also lead me to poetry. Surprisingly, the words just came when the inspiration comes 🙂
    We are work in progress 🙂

  3. It was a blessing to read your article and know I am not alone. I am not a writer with only a high school education but I love my Lord. When I write I feel the Spirits leading, it may not be perfect but as long as I touch at least one life then I know I succeeded in doing what God called me to do. Although I knew Jesus all my life it was not until my adult life and some wrong choices that made me fully understand who He is and to live my life for Him. I am so thankful Jesus never gave up on me. I am not a speaker so I again I am thankful that He allows me to use the written word to share His Word. Thank you for also opening your heart to serve Our Lord with your words. 😉

  4. Thank you for this encouraging post! After reading all the other comments, I can see you really touched on things we can all relate to.
    And thank you for visiting my new blog and “liking” today’s post. I so appreciate it.

  5. “if I hadn’t taken the chance with trusting God, I would have never seen the truth…” Love your hearts words. Beautiful post. Thank you for your sharing and encouragement!

Leave a Reply

