THE SOLDIER HE CALLED ME TO BE

I FOUND CHRIST_edited-1

THE SOLDIER HE CALLED ME TO BE

With my eyes closed, and my heart opened to you
I heard a whisper, I saw a clue, a vision of truth
I saw soldiers in a cave with their backs turned away
Hoping to see their faces, or what they might say
The vision instantly changed as to convey
I was missing it’s purpose
Suddenly the greenest field appeared
Life size soldiers were marching so close, so near
As if walking right passed me
I was there and I could see
I felt an incredible breeze
There was a reason the Lord brought me there
I couldn’t help but be in awe and stare
They were so focused as to their mission
I realized I had a decision
Would I respond to the call
The next thing I could recall
Was a sword like Excalibur placed inside me
A sword of the spirit, to set captives free
The soldier He called me to be

2 Timothy 2 New International Version (NIV)

The Appeal Renewed
2 You then, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. 2 And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable people who will also be qualified to teach others. 3 Join with me in suffering, like a good soldier of Christ Jesus. 4 No one serving as a soldier gets entangled in civilian affairs, but rather tries to please his commanding officer. 5 Similarly, anyone who competes as an athlete does not receive the victor’s crown except by competing according to the rules. 6 The hardworking farmer should be the first to receive a share of the crops. 7 Reflect on what I am saying, for the Lord will give you insight into all this.

8 Remember Jesus Christ, raised from the dead, descended from David. This is my gospel, 9 for which I am suffering even to the point of being chained like a criminal. But God’s word is not chained. 10 Therefore I endure everything for the sake of the elect, that they too may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus, with eternal glory.

11 Here is a trustworthy saying:

If we died with him,
we will also live with him;
12 if we endure,
we will also reign with him.
If we disown him,
he will also disown us;
13 if we are faithless,
he remains faithful,
for he cannot disown himself.

God bless you in your mission!

4 thoughts on “THE SOLDIER HE CALLED ME TO BE

Leave a Reply

